Posts Tagged ‘Johannes Brahms 1833-1897. Violin & piano sonatas. no. 3. op. 108. D minor’

Midday Artist :: Sonatas for Violin

Thursday, October 25th, 2012

Hosted by NJVID

<iframe src=””frameBorder=”0″style=”height:240px;width:450px;padding:1px;margin:2px 0;overflow:visible;”></iframe>

As part of William Paterson University’s continuing Midday Artist series, violinist Evelyn Estava and pianist Itay Goren perform sonatas for violin and piano by Mozart, Debussy and Brahms. Selections include “Sonate für Piano forte und Violine K. 301″ by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart; “Sonate pour Violon et Piano in G Minor” by Claude Debussy (written near the end of the composer’s life); “Sonate für Pianoforte und Violine Op. 108″ by Johannes Brahms (aka the D Minor Sonata, where the composer interweaves lyricism with tragic, haunting undertones); and “Danse Espagnole” arranged by Fritz Kreisler.

Complete Program Title: Sonatas for Violin and Piano

Series: Midday Artist

Date Created: October 25, 2012

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, 1756-1791 – Composer
Claude Debussy, 1862-1918 – Composer
Johannes Brahms, 1833-1897 – Composer
Fritz Kreisler, 1875-1962 – Composer
Evelyn Estava – Violinist
Itay Goren – Pianist

Sponsor: The Department of Music

Duration: 01:01:12 [hh:mm:ss]

Language: English